Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

University to honor faculty, staff

November 13, 2012
From staff reports , Weirton Daily Times

STEUBENVILLE - Franciscan University of Steubenville will honor nine long-time faculty and staff for their service to the university and the community at the 63rd-annual Founders' Association Dinner on Dec. 8, in the J. C. Williams Center.

In addition, eight local students will receive scholarships at the event.

All of the honorees "were here through some of our tougher times and stayed on to become the backbone of the university we know today," said the Rev. Richard Davis, TOR, vice president of community relations. "This is our small way of saying 'thank you' to each of them."

The staff and faculty to be honored "believed in Father Mike (Scanlan, TOR, president 1974 to 2000), and supported the mission of the school at tremendous sacrifice to their families during the years of financial hardship when the College of Steubenville was transforming itself into a nationally known university," said Davis.

Most of the honorees have retired, but some continue to teach part time.

Honorees include professor John Herrmann, physics; the late professor Ray Petrilla, biology; professor Ed Bessler, biology; professor James Slater, chemistry; Virginia Zoric, assistant dean of faculty; professor Joseph Zoric, economics; Irene Pizzoferrato, secretary to the dean of faculty; professor Norman Rokke, chemistry and computer science; and professor Earl Spinnenweber, philosophy.

Several local students also will receive scholarships at the dinner.

The University Founders' Scholarship will be given to Jarett Kuhns of Bellaire, Amanda Carmine of Steubenville and William Shanahan of Steubenville.

The Rose M. DeFede Women's Guild Scholarship will be given to Tiffany Ribar of Steubenville, Rachael Oiler of Weirton, Cheryl Myers of Dresden, Maureen Kazmierczyk of Conway, Pa., and Mycaela Stewart of Mingo Junction.

The Founders' Association Dinner was established in 1949 by the Rev. Daniel Egan, TOR, first president of the College of Steubenville, to draw the college and civic communities together.

The Founders' Award was established in 1978 to honor men, women and organizations for their contributions to Franciscan University of Steubenville and the local community.

Dinner tickets are $50 each and are available by calling Franciscan University of Steubenville's Community Relations Office at (740) -283-6406 by Nov. 30.

Supporters who cannot attend and want to make a scholarship donation, can send a check payable to the Founders' Association, Community Relations, 1235 University Blvd., Steubenville, OH 43952.

I am looking for: