Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Hospital foundation takes a trip to the islands

April 29, 2013
Weirton Daily Times

WEIRTON - The Weirton Medical Center Foundation took guests on a trip to paradise Friday night.

The foundation's annual gala event, held at Williams Country Club, featured a Hawaiian Extravaganza theme, with Hawaiian music, hula dancers and a even a demonstration of Samoan fire dancing.

Foundation Executive Director Kelli McCoy welcomed those in attendance and thanked them for their support, noting the foundation works to give back to the community through its Healthy Community Grants Program, as well as through various projects in cooperation with Weirton Medical Center itself.

Article Photos

GALA EVENT — Weirton Medical Center Foundation Executive Director Kelli McCoy and Chairman J.J. Bernabei welcomed those in attendance at Williams Country Club Friday night. The foundation’s annual gala featured a Hawaiian Extravaganza theme this year. -- Craig Howell

"That's what Weirton Medical Center and the Weirton Medical Center Foundation are all about," McCoy said.

Foundation Chairman J.J. Bernabei agreed, noting some of the projects completed in recent years through the efforts of the foundation. Among those noted is the upgrading of the hospital's mammography equipment within the last several months.

"What we do for the hospital does affect the community," Bernabei said.

Entertainment Friday was provided by Tuika's Polynesian Island Magic.

Guests also had an opportunity to bid on a variety of items as part of a silent auction, which featured several types of themed gift baskets, golf packages, sports tickets, tickets to the Wheeling Symphony and several pieces of sports and entertainment memorabilia.

In addition to Bernabei, members of the Foundation's board of directors are John Greco, vice chair; Dr. Mitch Fuscardo, secretary; Dr. George M. Roig, treasurer; Charles M. O'Brien, president; John "Doc" Bahnsen; Kristin Bowman-Cross; Steve Magnone; Dr. John Mitchell and Brenda Mull.

Members of the event planning committee were Natalie Beatty, Courtney Bioux, Kate Cook, Janice Hurley, Bob Kolanko, Sierra Quick, Jackie Snoderly and Justine Zuleba.

I am looking for: