Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Absentee balloting continuing in Ohio this week

May 1, 2013
Weirton Daily Times

Ohio voters still may vote on an absentee ballot - either by mail or in person at their county's board of elections office - in time for the Tuesday primary election in the state.

Voters have until noon Saturday to request an absentee ballot by mail. These can be obtained by phoning their respective county board of elections or by downloading an absentee ballot request form at

Voted ballots must be postmarked the day before Election Day and received no later than 10 days after the May 7 election, or on May 17. Absentee ballots may be delivered in person to boards of elections no later than the close of the polls on Election Day, but they cannot be returned at polling locations.

Voters wanting to cast absentee ballots in person at local boards of election offices may do so at the following times and locations:

- Jefferson County voters may vote an absentee ballot in person at the elections board office, 117 N Third St., Steubenville, from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. through Friday and from 9 a.m. to noon on Saturday. Voting also will take place in the office from 9 a.m. until 2 p.m. on Monday. Those needing more information should call the Jefferson County Board of Elections office at (740) 283-8522.

- In-person absentee voting takes place in Harrison County from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. today and Thursday at the courthouse in Cadiz and from 8 a.m. until noon on Friday. The office also will be open from 9 a.m. until noon on Saturday. Voting continues at the board office on Monday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. This year's primary election in Harrison County pertains only to residents living in German, Green and Shortcreek townships.

On Election Day, voters in German and Green townships only will vote at the board office from 6:30 a.m. until 7:30 p.m.. Voting also will take place in Shortcreek Township at the Harrisville Fire Department during the same hours. The Harrison County Board of Election can be reached at (740) 942-8866.

- In Belmont County, in-person absentee voting happens from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. through Friday at the board office, 103 B Plaza West, St. Clairsville. The office also will be open from 8 a.m. until noon on Saturday for voting, but there will be no in-person absentee voting in Belmont County on Monday. Residents with questions should contact the Belmont County Board of Elections at (740) 526-0188.

I am looking for: